About the Society for the Blind – Free State

Our Mission

The mission of the Society for the Blind, Free State is to empower visually impaired and blind people in order to achieve their maximum potential through independence and active living.

Our Vision is to:

  • Deliver support services, counselling, orientation and mobility services and community services to the best of our ability to all blind and partially sighted people in and around Bloemfontein.
  • Initiate different projects for the Blind and establish support groups.
  • The Society would like to make a positive difference through service delivery in the lives of all blind and partially sighted persons.

The Executive Committee

The Committee has the following members: Chairperson, Vice-chair and 8 members. The committee meetings are once a month, every 4th Monday of the month. The core business of the committee is to conduct business falling within the powers of the Executive Committee and that is necessary for the welfare of the clients of the Society. The committee also administers the funds of the Society as well as to control, co-ordinate, facilitate and support the service programmes and activities of the Society.

The Staff

Right to left: Jackson Mokgothu(Driver), Jafta Dladla (Orientation and Mobility worker), Marianne Kruger (Manager/Treasurer/Low vision Consultant), Irene Kumalo (Clerk/Receptionist), Theresa Erasmus (Social worker) and Jane Rametse (Community worker)

Social Work Services

The Social Worker renders social Work services on a daily basis to the blind and partially sighted. This service aims to better the quality of life and the functionality of these people.

Other Services

The Society for the Blind, Free State assist with the day to day problems blind and partially sighted person’s experience. For example: application and renewing of grants; transport to and from clinics, hospitals; assistance with practical problems at home and shopping .

Committee Members

Mr. Malotle (Chairperson)
Mr. A. de Vos (Vice- Chair)
Dr. N., Avenant
Rev. N. Mostert
Dr. E.J. Smit
Mnr. V. Kgosi
Mrs. A. Devenier
Mr. D. Hatting
Mrs. E. Hatting